how to be a reader…..

Are you a reader? Not everyone is a reader, for this I know first hand. My husband isn’t a huge reader, unless it’s the latest “Motor” or “Top Gear” magazine that’s appeared in our letterbox, but I am.

I have always loved to read, and I hope that I can instill that value in my children as they grow up. I got my sons report card today for the end of first grade, he still needs to apply himself a little more when it comes to reading and writing. As a person who loves to read and write I am trying not to booksforkidsblame myself for his lack of enthusiasm when in the classroom. His teacher this year has been great, and as I’ve spent time in the classroom, I know she is using best techniques for best results.

I just don’t know how to get him interested in writing, being able to use his words he knows, and trying to get him spell things correctly. He has started writing notes to me, apology notes; permission slips; love notes!!! I love this, and hope he never stops that!!

We read books nearly every night before bed, and my 6yo has started reading me Dr Suess, it’s fun to hear him reading these, and I’ve been working on him really grasping the concept of the story, rather than relaying the words to me without emotion!

What do you do to get your kids to read? Any tricks, hints, tips? Will this just be something that ‘clicks’ in him and he’ll be off and writing in no time? I’m interested to hear from teachers, parents, friends with no kids!! Let me know! Also, what’s your favourite kids book, to read to them, to have them read, book you grew up with?

As we head into the first week of school holidays (tomorrow is the last day of school/care for all of my kids!) I wish you all sanity and self-love! May the forces be with you and the holidays be smooth sailing. I have a feeling we’ll be at the local water park a lot, and the local parks!!!

From my family to yours… Merry Happy Holidays!

20131212_081035

2 thoughts on “how to be a reader…..

  1. It was definitely something that ‘clicked’ with Miss9, about a term or two into Grade 2, suddenly she LOVED writing. Hope it is the same for your Mr6 xxx

  2. Just continue to encourage his love of reading. Start reading him something a bit more exciting. Maybe start on Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket or even the A A Milne Winnie the Pooh books (I particularly love them for their silliness and their poems). Writing can take a while to click. For some kids it’s frustrating because they have all these ideas in their head that they just can’t get down on paper fast enough. Also do activities that develop his imagination. A good imagination is important in writing. If he does start writing little stories ask him to tell you more about the characters, where they live, what they do, any super powers etc. This will help him as he gets older to include these details in his writing. Hope that is helpful.

I'd love to hear your thoughts

