Doing the lunchbox switcheroo

Have you heard of Soup? No, I’m not talking about that yummy, winter goodness that makes you feel better on cold days, or when you’re sick. I’m talking about The Soup.com.au – a company that lets you do some market research in the comfort of your own home. I’ve been applying to Soup projects for a while now and have received some pretty awesome products to test out. There’s never a lack of interest in our house, especially with the 3 young children, and their friends and families.

This new project I’ve been assigned is all about Meadowlea margarine. It’s called the “lunchbox switcheroo” and I’m very excited to be an ‘official blogger’ on the project. Having children that are huge toast and sandwich lovers, I quite often find myself muddled over to what is best to put on them. They’re quite the ‘fussy’ lot, however there is always a request for something ‘under’ the Vegemite.  I thought this project would be perfect for our family!

When looking at children’s nutrition, in my opinion it’s always good to be looking for a whole food approach. I was absolutely astounded to read then, that by making the switch to Meadowlea you can save your kids 2.5kgs of saturated fat. If I’m saving my kids that, and I’m also eating toast/sandwiches, then I’ll be saving myself that too. This is a very good thing!

Check out these photos of what 2.5kgs of fat looks like. The kids thought it was ‘gross’ hahahaa!

Ewwwww…. And to think.. in the past year I’ve lost at least 6 of these blocks, off my body. Wow!!! Puts all the food choices into perspective!

Meadowlea is also 65% less saturated fat than butter, as well as being a natural source of Omega3, good for healthy heart function and general well-being.

For the next month, I’ll be making the switch. I’ll be reporting back as to whether the children have loved it, hated it, or not even noticed!

I’ll also be running a competition in a few weeks, with the winner receiving a $50 gift card, so stay tuned for details on that!

For now..I’m off to think of fun and creative things for the ‘lunchbox’….

2 thoughts on “Doing the lunchbox switcheroo

  1. Hi sydneygen,

    very inspiring to read of your achievements. Good job.

    As for ‘margarines’ of any sort, medical research says that they are worse than pure butter. it’s not saturated fat that you need to be worried of, but rather the hydrogenated fats (vegetable oils turned to fat by the process of hydrogenation) like all margarines.

I'd love to hear your thoughts

