R U OK?

It’s R U OK? Day in Australia. What is R U OK? Day you might ask? Well the website explains:

R U OK?Day is a national day of action on the second Thursday of September (13 September 2012), dedicated to inspiring all people of all backgrounds to regularly ask each other ‘Are you ok?’

By raising awareness about the importance of connection and providing resources throughout the year, the R U OK? Foundation aims to prevent isolation by empowering people to support each other through life’s ups and downs.

Being a stay-at-home Mum full-time I find it very isolating at times. You have school pick up and drop off where you can connect with other parents, and you have those days when you may go for a walk to the shops or meet at the park with friends. Apart from that, it’s all systems-go at home. The walls start to close in and the same episodes of Peppa Pig start to really get on your nerves. It is one of the reasons I have taken up my university studies again, and it’s a reason I actively participate in Social Media of various forms.  I love to communicate, chat and share with people who have the same interests. I believe it was Oprah (or probably someone before her) that said, “Knowledge is Power”, I firmly believe that being knowledgeable is powerful to the mind.

Anyway, I digress. One of the reasons I am writing this post today is to ask YOU reading this, R U OK? If you answer No, then I want you to think for a minute, and answer this question, What can I do for you? I am here for you, and I will listen. If all you need is to talk to someone, I will do it. If you need to vent, scream, or cry, I am here. If you need someone to make you laugh, I am here. I will always be here.

Now, if someone was to ask ME if I am OK, I am find today a good day to say, “No, I am not exactly OK”. For the past 6 months I have been struggling to come to terms with not feeling OK. It is one of the hardest things to admit to yourself, and one of the hardest things I can do, by putting it out here into the webiverse. Through the support of some fantastic friends and a very understanding husband, I have been to my GP and have been diagnosed with Post Natal Depression. When I first heard those words I was in denial. I mean, I’d completed all of the surveys conducted by the health care nurses, and in hospital, yet I was fooling myself. I knew exactly what they wanted to hear, so I filled them out accordingly. I didn’t want to admit that I needed help. I have always been able to handle things on my own.

However, the only person I was lying to was myself. I have 3 children under 5. That’s A LOT of pressure that I have been putting on myself. I stay at home all day and I try to make the house a happy one. With the help of those amazing friends I spoke of above, and my wonderful husband, I am able to seek the help that I need. It isn’t a quick fix, and it’s not something that I think can be solved with a ‘pill’, however through a variety of things combined, I will overcome this feeling and get to the day where I can smile and say… I am OK.  I look forward to that day. I’ve started concentrating on organising my life, studying at university and getting back into my healthy eating and exercise. Through all this, and support, I can conquer the black dog that barks so loudly in my life.

So, what was the point of this post? Well……. if just one person reading this is able to stop and say they are not OK, and go and speak to someone about it, then I feel like I have done a duty. It is important to educate ones self, to be able to answer the questions that are tapping at the door and to move on and live the best life you can, being the best version of yourself. You can be OK, and you will be OK.

I am proud to live in a country that recognises that Mental Health is real, it is not made up, and it needs to be addressed. Through many campaigns, such as R U OK? Day, we can all get together and help one another. Please, ask someone today, R U OK? If they answer No, please, let them talk it out. Give them the website to R U OK? Day and educate yourself, so that you can be the best friend that person needs.

Here are some additional resources I encourage you to have a look at:

The Black Dog Institute – A valuable resource for all things to do with Mental Health

Dancing With The Black Dog ~A wonderfully witty, candid account of one man’s victory over anxiety & depression

 

10 thoughts on “R U OK?

  1. You made me cry… BUT THAT’S A GOOD THING!!

    Made me realise that I’m actually not ok. I’ve been so beaten down over the past month or so. Betrayed by who I thought was a close friend, humiliated by strangers because of that betrayal, bullied online and made an outcast at my daughters preschool (so i pulled her out of there)… Resulting in emo eating at it’s worst — which also set back all my hard work with clean eating and exercise. I haven’t left the house in about a month since all this happened, apart from school drop offs and pick ups of course…

    If I could pack up everything and move tomorrow — I would! I miss having a close circle of friends that I can count and rely on. I’m talking about the real life ones — not the words and faces on a screen that are thousands of miles away.

    I think I need a time out. A holiday. A break from all things “Mummy”. I’ve lost “Me” again.

    • Mel, You are amazing and extremely brave for posting this. I am here for you. I know I am just a blip on a computer screen, but sometimes that is enough. WhatsApp me, or email me. We can chat.
      As for isolation. I know how it feels, and I live in suburbia. You need to push yourself out of that door and do it. You do need a break. The time I went away by myself was extremely rewarding and refreshing. Stand up for yourself and make it happen. Even if it’s going to a local hotel for a night or 2, just to put your feet up and read a book or watch a movie in peace.
      You could always come to Sydney 🙂 My door is always open.
      Be strong, Stand Strong and you will get through. Hugest of hugs and love. You will be ok, one day 🙂 It Gets Better.

  2. Like Mel. You have brought a tear or more to my eyes. I wish i could wave my mummy wand and make it better. Im always here for you my baby girl.
    I love you
    Mummy xxxx

  3. Youre such an amazing and inspiring person. I hate to see you feeling down, but I do know what that’s like, and I do know suffocating the isolation can sometimes be even WITH park days and school pick-ups. I’m glad you have supportive people in your life to talk to when you need them, and I’m grateful to have you as one of mine (even all the way on the other side of the world), because LITERALLY every time we chat, even just a little bit, you always manage to put a smile on my face.
    I love this post (even though you made me cry), and I hope you know that I’m always here, too, if you need (or just want) to talk. ❤

  4. Pingback: Yoga, Therapy & Teen Wolf .. the week of new things! | Life...Love....and Everything In Between

  5. Pingback: R U OK? – It’s OK To Say NO | Life...Love....and Everything In Between

  6. Pingback: RUOK Day 2015 – Thanks for Asking | Life...Love....and Everything In Between

I'd love to hear your thoughts

