Wednesday Weigh-In Week 11 + Revisiting Goals and Expectations

It’s week 11 of the 12 week body transformation program that I signed up for. I can’t believe it’s been almost 3 months.  In pre-season we set goals for ourselves. As this round comes to a close I thought it would be good to go back and see what the ‘pre-season’ goals I had written for myself were, and to check out how far along I had come. Well then, wasn’t I a low expectation setter!!!

1 month goal: lose 1-2kgs – run ANY distance without huffing and puffing — CHECK

3 month goal: lose 5kgs – Run without needing to stop after a few minutes – CHECK
Buy a pair of jeans in the ‘normal’ section – CHECK

6 month gaol: lose 10kgs – Run 4kms without stopping

As you can see, I blitzed 1 & 3 month goals and need a heavy re-evaluation!! As for the 6 month goal, I still have 3 months to get to the 4kms without stopping, but that should be helped along with the Run Clinic I’m doing this weekend through Mind Body Motion Fitness Solutions.

My new goals are to run as many fun-runs as I can leading up to a half-marathon. I’m thinking of giving myself about 6 months for this goal.

As for the weight – the numbers are in for this week! I’ve been pushing myself on the weekends and again, hit the 1000 calorie mark on Saturday and then attended a Boxing training class at the park on Sundays with a program called Pain in the Park with AC Fitness. Combined with at-home workouts and eating well I’ve lost more weight this week!

After yesterdays post I’ve had time to reflect and come to realise that I do need to be concentrating on how far I’ve come, instead of how far I want to go. In working towards success I must also celebrate the victories that I’ve achieved. I’ve said previously that you must celebrate the small things, in order to see the big picture. Looking at these numbers I surely can say without a doubt that I am smiling at my success.

If ever there was a time where I thought I would doubt myself, or I thought that I’d just do it tomorrow, it’s now. I’ve stepped up the plate and I’ve met the challenges set out for us and the changes that needed to happen, head on. I always seem to go into things enthusiastically and full-force, and I believe in one of the earlier posts I mentioned that I often start to fade and end up missing out on the completion of tasks. Or I get distracted and move onto other things. I decided to join up for this round because I knew I needed the help to stay focused and I needed the right person to tell me how it is and what to do. Seriously, this program has been that. A life-saver really.

I can’t say that this has been easy to do, but the moment I took control and responsibility of my actions it did become a lot, lot easier.

In saying that, it actually wasn’t all that hard to stop doing the things we’d been doing to sabotage ourselves. I remember a couple of months ago, my husband and I decided to add up a ‘typical Sunday’ in regards to food. A typical day when we didn’t really watch our food or portion sizes and we thought we were doing good, because we were having salad with dinner… I was HORRIFIED to see that it all added up to over 4000 calories!! I can’t believe I was putting that through my body, then sitting and being miserable because I felt so fat!!! The lessons in mind and body that this program has taught me have become so invaluable to me. Only last night my husband and I were discussing food and I pointed to a nice dessert in a magazine saying that it looked really good. He actually said to me that it didn’t really appeal to him. I nearly fell off my chair. This is the dessert man and the man who would sit and eat a whole block of chocolate, not three months ago! It’s as if our body chemistry has changed and we no longer crave that manufactured food!!  What a bloody wonderful thing that is!!! Although I did say I could go one of those gorgeous french pastries you find in the boutique bakeries!!!!

I’m a  huge believer in the program and if you want to change, then I say go for it. Do it. But know this…You have to commit over 100 % of yourself to the program and the lessons. Nobody can do it for you and nobody can change you, but yourself. People can ‘help’ you along with support and such, but in the end it’s you that has to do the hard work. It won’t happen overnight, but it will happen *insert hair flick!* and although times might get tough and you might want to give-up, it’s a lifestyle change,  not just a fad and not just an in-the-moment-ideal…a new way of life.. a new lease on life! Creating the best version of me that I possibly can.

The weather lately hasn’t been the best. We’ve gone from hot-as-hell to rainy-and-want-to-stay-in-bed weather! This morning was a definite CBF day but I thought I better get down and do something! Pilates seems to be my go-to when I’m in one of those moods. Rather than a high-cal burn it’s still stretching and toning muscles. It’s usually a quick and easy work-out except for this morning. The kids were in cuddly moods too! I just wanted to show you, to prove that YOU can do it too, that work-outs can be done when you have kids, you just have to adapt!!

       

One thought on “Wednesday Weigh-In Week 11 + Revisiting Goals and Expectations

  1. Well done on another great loss this week – good for you ! Isn’t it amazing when you look back at how unhealthy your choices were – and then you look at what you would have eaten in the past and it is no longer as appealing as it used to be. I love it when that happens. I still long to sit down and eat as much chocolate as I want, but I do know that it would not be nearly as much as it used to be !!!!

    Have a great day !

I'd love to hear your thoughts

