Cupcakes… Nuff Said

For those that don’t know me–I love Cupcakes.

It’s true. I love them. I love looking at them. I love smelling them. I love buying them. I love eating them! I’d say I love to bake them, which I do, but honestly, I’m more than happy just to eat them! My favourite is the good old vanilla cake with vanilla butter-cream frosting. The bottom left picture on the right montage are from my favourite bakery in Sydney, My Little Cupcake They are divine, delicious, amazing and mouth-watering. I love them!

Every Wednesday my son goes to daycare. Usually my 1 & 2 year old and I go to the local cafe and indulge in a coffee and cupcakes (obviously, they have babycinos and I have the ‘cawfee’) and we spend a little ‘girl time’ together. I miss those days.

Since being on the program I haven’t had a cupcake. I feel like I’m dying inside. Okay, not really, but I do miss those tiny morsels of goodness that you don’t have to share with anyone else. Depending on where you get a cupcake from really determines the calories. While there are quite a few places that have minimal calories, I’m afraid of the ‘other’ ingredients in them. What makes them taste so good? It’s probably not something that’s really good for you! Anyway, I digress….. The reason for sharing this is because I’ve been able to rein in my self-sabotage control and know that I don’t need a cupcake every week to make myself happy. As much as I want, I want something more. I want to be happy with myself and I want to like my body. Unfortunately the humble little cupcake doesn’t factor into this equation. I still love cupcakes, I’ll always love cupcakes, so I’ve compromised.

Next year there is a huge meet-up in Las Vegas, NV for an online community I’m a part of. I would love nothing more than to make it over there. First, I need a job (I didn’t get the job I applied for, a completely devastating blow to me but we’re moving on) and then I need to come up with the money for the trip. Everyone knows that every little bit helps, so I’ve bought myself a little incentive. Instead of eating a cupcake, I’ll now use it to save! Presenting…my cute new Cupcake Money Box!!

Things I’ve learned so far: You don’t need to sacrifice the things you love, you  just need to find a way to work around them. I’m working my way around wanting to eat cupcakes by using that money I would have spent on one (at least $3-$4) and putting it into this money box, so that I can fulfill a dream of going to Las Vegas, NV and also visiting friends in the States that I haven’t seen for a very very very long time. Wish me luck. At this stage, there is no money tree in the back yard, but like this weight-loss journey has taught me: If you hunger for something enough, it will happen.

I'd love to hear your thoughts

