Overcoming Week 2 Hurdles

Not gonna lie – I’m a little disappointed!!! In the same breathe, I”m a little excited!!! How can this be, you ask?

Well…. today Mum came with us to watch the kids have their swimming lessons (Hi Mum, have I told you lately how proud I am of your achievements, and YES I can notice and difference already! Woot Woot!) and when we came home I insisted she look over my Heart Rate Monitor instructions to see if she could get it to work. I mean, what else are Mum’s for, but for fixing problems, plus I knew she could do it *winks at Mum!*

She indeed DID get my Heart Rate Monitor working and Wahoooooo we started to celebrate with the fact that I could finally get a calories burned reading and proper Heart Beats per Minute! I was eager to get this show on the road and finally get those calorie numbers up. Up until today, I’ve been using a ‘calorie estimator’ to determine how much I’ve done. Well…didn’t I get a rude shock when I started working out and the numbers very very slowly started moving. After 20 minutes of Zumba we were still in the double digits. *scoffs* Not good enough!! I then put on a Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 DVD and went hard for another 20 minutes; just getting into the triple digits now. *scoffs – are you freakin kidding me* I was under the assumption that I should be aiming for 400-500 calories burning a day. Oh my goodness. I put on an Intensity Cardio DVD and started huffing, puffing, jumping and moving and after 30 minutes the HRM finally clocked over 200. That was it, I was exhausted! I’d done 70 minutes, but had only burned 215 calories *insert sad face* I mean – What the FIRETRUCK is that all about?!? The calorie estimator tells me I should have burned almost 600 calories.

What do I do? I’ve been really kinda bummed out about it, but after a hot shower and some reflection I’ve decided I need to pull myself out of the funk I’ve been in for the past couple of days and be really proud of myself for getting up off the couch and actually Moving. I haven’t moved this much in over 10 years, and for that I need to stop beating myself up and be happy. I guess through this whole journey it’s going to take small steps to make a big reality, but as I’ve said before…I’m a now kinda gal, and this challenge is definitely making me pull myself into line!

I’m sticking to the food plan, and even if I’m not a fan of the meals, I”m making sure I keep under the 1200 calorie a day range. I feel better. I think I’m sleeping a little better (I think I’d sleep fantastic, if I didn’t have kids coming in at all hours of the night) and although I’m wishing for major changes, I’m being realistic and saying that I think I can feel and see some small changes in my body.

Another MAJOR challenge I have to overcome is Scales..Yup, you read right… Scales. I’m having an emotional relationship with our set of scales right now, and I need to break up with them. You see the problem is, I want to step on them…all-the-time. I want to know what I’m doing is working and I want to see that in numbers. Now, I know this is WRONG and that’s why I’m working hard on the break up. They are a pretty red colour, but I know I must not be tempted. I must work to stay off them until Wednesday Weigh-Ins. I find that if I jump on them and it moves in a direction I’m not particularly fond of, it can set off my mood for the rest of the day/night. I’m writing this out, so that I can be accountable to NOT step on the scales but once a week!!!!!

Cue Pic of Scales with a big red X through them – Gen – DO NOT STEP on the scales unless it’s Weigh-In Wednesday!!

That’s it for now, I’m off the weekend to hopefully “Smash it” and get some cals burned! My usual Friday night Wine is put on hold for a few months, and although I miss it, I’ll replace it with tea and dream of how stealthy I’ll look holding a glass of vino with my new slim fingers!!! (you may laugh at that visual..I did!) And I’ll work on the triple P theory:

Until next time…..

Oh Oh Oh and Let me take this opportunity to say a Great Big WAY TO GO to my husband who’s taken this whole lifestyle change on with a complete amount of Positive and is seeing the effects of it himself! I’m also already seeing a difference, as are the scales! Way to go Babe! x

2 thoughts on “Overcoming Week 2 Hurdles

  1. Good on you for getting off the couch! I’m not sure what your goal is, but a tip that may help with the dreaded scales: keep moving and aim for health and fitness first. Let the weight loss be a happy side-effect (not the ‘main’ aim) 🙂

  2. Oh yes, the HRM is a pain in my butt too – I really struggle to burng 500-600 calories in an hour session. I ran 6km the other day and barely hit 300. But you know what? It means you are fit – because your HR is not peaking as high, which in turn means you need to work harder to get that burn. I am just loving the fact that my fitness has improved, and I am happy if I get to anything in the 400’s most of the time.

    Keep up the great work, a 70 minute session is fab!

I'd love to hear your thoughts

